The Heritage Centre
Standing in a stunning setting, overlooking the ‘lost’ village destroyed by fire in 1684, the remains of the chancel of the medieval church is home to the Churchill and Sarsden Heritage Centre. It tells the story of the village, using touchscreen technology and digital displays.
The current exhibition is William Smith: The Family Man, curated by Oxford University Museum of Natural History. Recognised as the Father of English Geology, not many people know that William Smith had close personal relationships with his sister’s children, who lived with him after her death. He instilled in them his love for geology and the eldest son, John Phillips, eventually became the first keeper of OUMNH. Anne, the only daughter, was her brother’s companion and constant support for 33 years. More information can be found on the website.
The Heritage Centre is open from Easter to the end of September on Saturdays, Sundays and Bank Holidays from 2.00 - 4.30pm.
Admission is free.
For further information go to the Heritage Centre website at churchillheritage.org.uk
Also available are the two publications illustrated. A History of Churchill and Sarsden written by local historian Ralph Mann and a leaflet on four Churchill Village walks. Both can be bought at the Heritage Centre or ordered by email from firstname.lastname@example.org
To return to Home Page click here